Þorsteinn I. Sigfússon

Professor of Physics and General Director of Innovation Centre Iceland

Mr. Sigfússon has been a professor of Physics at the University of Iceland since 1989. He has over 160 publications, many of which concern renewable energy. He was a key figure in turning the adademic knowledge from the University of Iceland into a spin-off company, Icelandic New Energy currently responsible for the Icelandic Hydrogen Economy work. He is currently a member of the Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Advisory Council of the European Union, Brussels. Mr. Sigfússon received the Icelandic Presidential Award in 2004 for his research and development activities and The Global International Energy Prize in St. Petersburg 2007.

Tagged under: Academia, DS07 Reykjavík

Related Speakers

Dr. Ulf Bossel

European Fuel Cell Forum, Switzerland


Jan Brentebraten

Director Alternative Fuel Vehicles Strategy, Ford of Europe


Per Carstedt

CEO SEKAB, Chairman Bio Alcohol Fuel Foundation (BAFF), Sweden


Gerbrand Ceder

R P Simmons Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT


Baldur Elíasson

Former Head of ABB´s Energy and Global Change Program & Vice Chairman of IEA R&D Program on Greenhouse Gas Mitigation Technology


Þorleifur Finnsson

Head of Overseas Projects and R&D at Reykjavik Energy


Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson

President of Iceland, Patron of Driving Sustainability


Björn H. Halldórsson

Managing Director, Metan & Sorpa, Reykjavík, Iceland


Ari Kristinn Jónsson

Rector, Reykjavik University and former Senior Research Scientist at NASA Ames Research Center.


Eyþór Ívar Jónsson

CEO of Klak – Innovation Centre and Seed Forum Iceland


Please login

You must be registered to view the presentations. If you are already a registered member you can login below, or you can register here.

Auto-login on future visits
Show my name in the online users list

Forgot your password?

Share this with a friend